BTEC Vocational Qualifications

What is BTEC?

BTEC is the world’s most successful and best-loved applied learning brand, and has been engaging learners in practical, interpersonal and thinking skills for over 25 years.BTECs are vocational qualifications designed to give students the skills they need to either move on to higher education or go straight into employment. They allow you the freedom to create the programme that you want to teach and that your students will want to learn. 

BTEC sectors
Which BTEC?

Level 3: BTEC Nationals

There are over 300 level 3 BTEC Nationals to choose from, all designed as specialist qualifications for those who have a clear view of their future career or want to progress to higher education. They are an alternative to A levels, accepted as an entry requirement for universities and further education colleges and highly valued by employers. BTEC Nationals are suitable for students aged 16 upwards and are recommended for those who have achieved at least four A*- to C-grade GCSEs or have completed a BTEC Level 2 First. 

BTEC Level 4-5 Higher Nationals

The BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificates (HNCs) and BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diplomas (HNDs) are widely recognised by universities and professional bodies. The HNC is often studied part time alongside full-time employment, and an HND is often studied full time. 

A Higher National student will develop management and other higher-level technical skills required by employers. After a period of usually two years, students often progress to the final year of degree programmes. Level 5 Higher Nationals can be studied in both further education colleges and universities. 

BTEC WorkSkills

The purpose of WorkSkills is to enhance employability and encourage students to gain soft skills to help them with career progression. Learners wishing to gain BTEC WorkSkills can choose from a range of unit options. Many units build on existing life and workplace skills, while some develop skills integral to the school and college timetable. 

BTEC Specialist Qualifications

These are a range of BTEC qualifications at all levels from Entry Level to Level 3. Each focuses upon the understanding, skills and knowledge needed for a particular sector or area of expertise. 

BTEC Professional Qualifications

These are designed to provide continuing professional development at Level 4 and above.